top of page
  • Writer's pictureCheryl Westbrook

new year, new you? not so fast . . .

Updated: Jan 25, 2019

With the dawn of a new year, there is always the initiative to start over, to create a new beginning for all the perceived ills of days past. I love the marker on the race track, the one that says, "you go girl, change your world, " but I have a thought for 2019 that is different: what if accept me just as I am?


Acceptance to me is a kind and gentle way of giving to me what I freely give to others - the freedom to be authentic; to be ridiculously wonderful and incredibly flawed. We all are. It's our humanity that unites us.


Perhaps you missed the course that instructed you to be perfect. You know, the one that said in order to be loved, you must be all of the above? The one that gave a long list with perfect cubes, centered left, for you to check completion and carry-over into the next year, should you fall short.


I think I was at the front of the line to sign up for the class, but some time ago and particularly now, I am dropping out. I'm pretty ok with who I am and even enjoy my multitude of flaws (they're my friends!)


That's not to say there aren't things I want to improve. Man, oh man, there are a lot, but for the most part they are related to nurturing my well-being through active positive thought and action. It's a simple thought not to indulge the committee members in my brain that seem to do push-ups while the haloed souls get their beauty sleep. It takes effort and the support of other precious sentients.



I believe that we all are responsible for our own salvation. I also believe that we are indelibly connected to one another. Let's dance. <3

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page